Home

so following on from my previous post, my visit to the MHS in Oxford reminded me of these drawing/measuring/trace making/leaving tools I have. They belonged to my grandfather Harold Eastwood. I never met either of my grandfathers and so often wonder about them. Harold was an engineer and he worked at the Royal Arsenal, Woolwich, London.

I also have a box of measuring scales of Harold’s.

and I found this photo of my grandmother, Freda Eastwood, who worked for the Ministry of Defence in their drawing offices. I think in this photo she was working in offices above Admiralty Arch, the Mall in London(I know she used to work there)…although really looking at this…it looks more like a warehouse…so perhaps this photo was taken at the Royal Arsenal.

One thought on “traces…

  1. precision tools like these are v. special. I love the beautiful ruling pens – I can almost imagine how they feel when held in the hand……

Leave a Reply

